Jordan Kyrou, Justin Fazio, Cam Dineen & Derian Hatcher named as 2018 OHL Awards Finalists

Ontario Hockey League

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2017-18 regular season.

Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams including Rookie of the Year, Overage Player of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Defenceman of the Year.

Teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot which is voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.

All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were also nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their Most Outstanding Player for the 2017-18 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL.

2017-18 OHL Awards Finalists:

Rookie of the Year / Emms Family Award Finalists:
Cam Hillis (Guelph Storm)
Blade Jenkins (Saginaw Spirit)
Arthur Kaliyev (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Blake Murray (Sudbury Wolves)
Rasmus Sandin (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Andrei Svechnikov (Barrie Colts)

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:
Justin Fazio (Sarnia Sting)
Jeremy Helvig (Kingston Frontenacs)
Aaron Luchuk (Barrie Colts)
Garrett McFadden (Guelph Storm)
Sam Miletic (Niagara IceDogs)
Hayden Verbeek (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year / William Hanley Trophy Finalists:
Cam Dineen (Sarnia Sting)
Joseph Garreffa (Kitchener Rangers)
Aaron Luchuk (Barrie Colts)
Linus Nyman (Kingston Frontenacs)
Allan McShane (Oshawa Generals)
Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack)

Coach of the Year / Matt Leyden Trophy Finalists:
Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Billy Burke (Niagara IceDogs)
Stan Butler (North Bay Battalion)
John Gruden (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Derian Hatcher (Sarnia Sting)
Dale Hawerchuk (Barrie Colts)
Trevor Letowski (Windsor Spitfires)

Goaltender of the Year Award Finalists:
Stephen Dhillon (Niagara IceDogs)
Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)
Justin Fazio (Sarnia Sting)
Jeremy Helvig (Kingston Frontenacs)
Kyle Keyser (Oshawa Generals)
Matthew Villalta (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:
Evan Bouchard (London Knights)
Cam Dineen (Sarnia Sting)
Sean Durzi (Owen Sound Attack)
Ben Gleason (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Nicolas Hague (Mississauga Steelheads)
Joey Keane (Barrie Colts)

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:
Barrie – Aaron Luchuk
Erie – Kyle Maksimovich
Flint – Ty Dellandrea
Guelph – Isaac Ratcliffe
Hamilton – Robert Thomas
Kingston – Jeremy Helvig
Kitchener – Adam Mascherin
London – Evan Bouchard
Mississauga – Nic Hague
Niagara – Sam Miletic
North Bay – Justin Brazeau
Oshawa – Kyle Keyser
Ottawa – Sasha Chmelevski
Owen Sound – Nick Suzuki
Peterborough – Dylan Wells
Saginaw – Evan Cormier
Sarnia – Jordan Kyrou
Sault Ste. Marie – Morgan Frost
Sudbury – Drake Pilon
Windsor – Michael DiPietro

The 2018 OHL Awards Ceremony takes place on Wednesday June 6 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award recipients will be announced periodically throughout the remainder of the 2018 OHL Playoffs.  Additional player awards to be announced include Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2017-18 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient.

More News
Questions? - Click Here & Ask Us!
1 year ago
Sting Forward Sean Josling Named to OHL's 3rd All-Star Team
5 days ago
Legwand Steps Away From The Bench to Join Front Office
2 weeks ago
2019-20 Photo Gallery
3 weeks ago
Welcome to The O Ryder McIntyre
3 weeks ago
2020 Third Round Pick Ryder McIntyre Signs with the Sting
3 weeks ago
Season Ticket Update
4 weeks ago